January Birchbox Contents

20140208-104801.jpg

If you read my last post, you’ll know that I have recently received my first ever (and possibly last) Birchbox.

I won’t go into it all again – I had enough of a rant last time! I’m a stickler for good customer service and won’t settle for anything less. And Birchbox, in my opinion have fallen far below the standards I would expect.

However, it’s only fair that I give the box a good try, and so I thought I’d give you a little run down of what I received and my thoughts on each product.

First up, it’s the Bee Kind Body Lotion with honey and organic chamomile extracts. Personally, body lotion isn’t one of my favourite things to use. It’s something I should use more often, but I tend to end up with loads of half-used body butters and such like. This sample size is probably enough for two applications. I really liked the smell of it, and it was so moisturising, particularly on my legs where I often get very dry skin, especially in the winter.
Would I buy it? No, because I wouldn’t get the use out of it. But I don’t have any real complaints about the product and it was pleasant enough to use.

20140208-104819.jpg

Next was the Blanc Cachemire Creme de Jour Protectrice – this is a French brand which I have never heard of and seems to be very hard to get hold of in the UK. It’s a day cream and came with a handy little card telling you about it because all of the packaging is in French! This was quite an average product – it sank in really quickly and moisturised my face without leaving it feeling greasy, but I was a bit put off by the smell. I can’t really tell you exactly what the smell was… You know when things just smell a bit “natural”? Know what I mean? Anyway, not my thing.

20140208-105041.jpg

The smell of this next product, on the other hand, was a winner for me. The Lavera Basis Sensitiv Hand Cream had a gorgeous smell – I asked Mike what he thought my hands smelled like and he said “sweets!”. And that’s exactly what it was like – it smelt like Refreshers! Yummy. The cream absorbed really quickly into my hands – I hate it when hand cream lingers and you end up not being able to do anything for ages. This wasn’t that way inclined and as such will be finding a home in my handbag.

20140208-105145.jpg

I’ve tried Benefit’s Porefessional before and really liked it – it seriously works. It does what it says on the tin – it smooths out your pores and mattifies your skin leaving it looking flawless and airbrushed. You can use it on its own or as a primer under your foundation. I would definitely purchase this, in fact having this sample has reminded me how much I love it and it may well be on my list next time I’m shopping!

20140208-105310.jpg

The next item was a Philip Kinglsey Moisture Balancing Conditioner. I’m a conditioner fiend. I use it every time I wash my hair, and slather it on. With this sample, there wasn’t a lot there so I was actually very conservative with how much I used, and I only applied it to the mid section and ends of my hair. My first impressions were very good – initially I didn’t notice any difference from my normal conditioner, but then Mike commented “Have you straightened your hair? It looks very shiny”, so I thought, Great! It has actually done something! I was quite happy with it until today – one day later and my hair is REALLY greasy. Now, considering I only used a small amount, and I can normally go for up to three days before my hair gets greasy, that doesn’t bode well. I’m sad to say I won’t be using this again.

20140208-105602.jpg

The last, and slightly random, item in my Birchbox was some Itsu Miso Soup. I must be the only person in the world to not have tried Miso soup! It’s a healthy, vegetarian paste which you can make into a soup or use to flavour marinades. I’ve been looking for some recipes to try this out on and think I will be soon making a vegetable noodle soup – I’ll keep you posted on the outcome!

20140208-105727.jpg

So there you have it. A pretty average box. All the samples were quite small sizes, and after reading other beauty blogs and seeing the great items they’ve had in their boxes over the past year, to say I was disappointed would be an understatement.

Glossybox here I come!

4 thoughts on “January Birchbox Contents

  1. There is definitely a lack of consistency as some months seem to be great whereas other months are a little underwhelming. It also seems like a lot of the same brands and products get repeated and there are less full size products.

    Oh well, the things us beauty junkies do just to get our hands on something new to try!

    Would you prefer to stay subscribed to Birchbox or maybe treat yourself to a new MAC lipstick or eye shadow every month? It may be worth thinking about… 🙂

    http://themissbeautysaverblog.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

